Scarlet Key Society Awards Reception

28 Mar, 2012

The Scarlet Key Society Awards Reception took place on Monday, March 26th, at the McGill Faculty Club and Conference Centre, to recognize students who have shown outstanding leadership and have contributed significantly to the McGill community. The reception began with a welcome by Ryan Tomicic, President of the Scarlet Key Society, followed by remarks from Heather Munroe-Blum, the presentation of awards, and closing remarks from Ryan Tomicic.

The Scarlet Key Honour Society is composed of all recipients of the Scarlet Key Award. Receiving the award is not seen as an “end in itself,” but rather as a way of bringing student leaders together, and providing them with the means to continue their contribution to the community.

Below is the list of this year’s award recipients:

Sameer Apte, MDCM’13

Sameer Apte, president of the medical class of 2013, lead the McGill student campaign against a Quebec-wide medical resident strike in July 2011. He was also a founding member of “MedSpecs,” and an ambassador for the Faculty of Medicine.

Ian Clarke, BCL/LLB’14

Ian Clarke was the elected law representative on a number of governing bodies. His leadership roles include Law Students’ Association VP-External, Law Representative to the SSMU Legislative Council, and the Law Student Senator on McGill Senate.

Monika Fabian, BA’12

Monika Fabian co-founded Red Thunder, which was voted the most well-liked student club. She also helped create many of the 200+ existing clubs under SSMU.

Dave Fortin, BCom’12

Dave Fortin served as the President of the Management Undergraduate Society during the 2011-2012 academic year.  He took on this role after a year in which the constitution, policies, and organization structure of the MUS had been completely overhauled.  ”It’s an honor to be inducted alongside so many accomplished students. The Scarlet Key marked a part of my life when I was very involved on campus, and I will work with the Scarlet Key Society to engage in the philanthropic work that they do,” says Fortin.

Daniel Keresteci, BEng’12

Daniel Keresteci was President of the Engineering Undergraduate Society during the 2010-2011 academic year. He united the Architecture Students’ Association with the EUS, bringing all undergraduates from the Faculty of Engineering under a single society.

Maggie Knight, BA&Sc’11

Maggie Knight has held a variety of leadership roles in the McGill community, including Environment Commissioner for the SSMU, Representative for SSMU Clubs & Services, and SSMU President.

Sam Latham, BCom’12

Sam Latham was the first male floor fellow at Royal Victoria college and the first male Assistant Director in the residence’s 113-year history. He also participated in a variety of case competitions, and served as the Management Representative to the SSMU.

Isabel Luce, BA’12

Isabel Luce was Co-president of the Art History and Communication Studies Student Association, President of the Redpath Museum Club, student curator for the Fridge Door Gallery, Off-campus fellow with McGill residences, and a part-time employee with the McGill First-Year Office.

Max Luke, BSc’12

Max Luke, who was co-president of the Environment Students’ Society, campaigned for the creation of the Sustainability Projects Fund, and worked with the School of Environment to create a new course subject code (“SUST”). He was also a student Senator.

Casey McDermott, BA’12

Casey McDermott worked with the Women in House program, and helped create similar programs at Concordia University and the University of Saskatchewan. She was also the Arts Undergraduate Society’s VP-Internal.

Matthew Morantz, MSc’12

Matthew Morantz is a researcher in the Department of Chemistry and a fellow of the McGill Institute for Health and Social Policy. He has also served in a variety of groups, including the McGill Foreign Affairs Review and the Association of Graduate Students Employed at McGill. He was closely involved in the development of the Making Waves program, a SSMU-accredited club.

David Morris, BEng’11

David Morris has been a leader in three Sustainability Projects Fund initiatives. He was involved with Gorilla Composting and the Central Campus Composter (Big Hanna) project. He won the 4th TD Friends of the Environment Go Green Challenge along with a colleague, and was co-chair of the inaugural SSMU Sustainability Case Competition.

Roland Nassim, PhD’13

Roland Nassim has been involved with the Post Graduate Students’ Society in a variety of roles in his time at McGill. He served as PGSS councilor, Master’s Senator, Equity Commissioner, VP External, VP Academic, and President.

Zach Newburgh, BA’12

Zach Newburgh was president of the SSMU for the 2010-2011 academic year. He also served as a Governor and Senator of McGill University, President of Hillel Montreal and Chabad McGill, Director of the Tribute Publications Society, Editor of the McGill Middle East Studies Journal, and was a Co-chair of Campaign McGill’s Campus Community Committee.

Alex Pajusi, BCom’13

Alex Pajusi, former Executive Editor of The Bull & Bear, oversaw all editorial, design and production aspects of the paper, and constructed its online component. In 2011, he worked with the Management Undergraduate Society President in the revision of the organization’s constitution. He has also been closely involved with the McGill Management International Case Competition. “I’ve watched the Bull & Bear grow so much, so being recognized in this way is very fulfilling. I’m proud of everyone who received the award today,” says Pajusi

Alex Pritz, BSc(AgEnvSc)’13

Alex Pritz helped co-found the award-winning student media collective, Developing Pictures, as well as the Haitian reforestation project, Foré Bambou. He was also awarded the inaugural McGill Dalai Lama Fellowship for a cross-cultural environmental action curriculum he has been developing.

Leanne Roach, BSc’12

Leanne Roach captained the McGill Varsity Swim team for the 2009-2010 academic year. In 2010, she won the team’s award for Team Spirit and Leadership, and was elected VP Community Outreach of the McGill Varsity Council in the following year. Leanne also sits on the Hall of Fame committee.

Rami Sayar, BEng’13

Rami Sayar is VP External of the Electrical, Computer and Software Engineering Students’ Society. Through Code Jam, an annual programming competition, he has created opportunities in learning and employment for Engineering and Computer Science students. 

Hubie Yu, BA&Sc’13

Hubie Yu was the President of the Bachelor of Arts & Science Integrative Council from 2010 to 2012. Under her purview, freshman outreach was increased via mailouts and the creation of the Freshman Arts & Science Committee. In addition, she recently spearheaded BASiC’s campaign to get representation for Arts & Science students on the SSMU Council.

Alice Zhang, MDCM’13

Alice Zhang was co-editor-in-chief of the McGill Journal of Medicine. During her tenure, the MJM received the Forces Avenir 2007 Health Award.

Lorne Trottier, BEng’70, MEng’73, DSc’06

Mr. Trottier is well-known at McGill for his support for the community. In 2000, his $10 million donation funded construction of the building that houses the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering and the School of Computer Science.

Robert, B’Eng’62, and Susan Winsor

Rober (Bob) Winsor played football for the McGill Redmen during his student days, and helped the team win the Yates Cup league championship in 1960. He is now the chairman and CEO of railway equipment firm Holden America, Inc. Mr. Winsor and his wife Susan donated $1.5 million to McGill football last year, the single largest gift in McGill Athletics history. Mr. Winsor continues to serve as a trustee of the Martlet Foundation and a member of the Sports Hall of Fame Committee and the Athletics and Recreation Advisory Board.

About the author

Related Posts

Leave a reply